Legal Aid and Defender to award 12 'Laddys' at ceremony Oct. 25

Ten attorneys, a law firm and an office of corporate counsel will receive “Laddy” awards from Legal Aid and Defender Association, Inc. (LAD) at its annual awards ceremony Thursday, Oct. 25 from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the A. Albert Taubman  Center for Design Services at the College for Creative Studies, 485 W. Milwaukee St.

The ceremony will also raise funds for LAD’s Civil Law Group and other LAD activities, according to Deierdre L. Weir, LAD President and CEO.
“As a result of a reduction in funding and a still-struggling economy, the need for financial support of Legal Aid has never been greater,” Weir said.  “Support of our Laddy awards ceremony and fundraiser will help us continue our work and give recognition to our volunteers.”

Laddy winners are:

• Pro Bono Attorney of the Year - Karen L. Piper, an attorney with Bodman PLC

• Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year - Honigman Miller Schwartz & Cohn LLP, represented by Jennifer Zbytowski Belveal, chair of the pro bono committee

• Kelvin W. Scott Pro Bono Corporation of the Year Award -General Motors Corporation, represented by Michael P. Millikin, senior vice president and general counsel

• Pro Bono Spirit-Macomb County - Patrick G. Gagniuk, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Macomb County - Bryan A. Sunisloe, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Oakland County - Krystal Denise Johnson, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Wayne County - Andrea D. Cartwright, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Wayne County - Danielle J. Hessell, an attorney with Butzel Long PC

• Friend of LAD - Lynn M. Davidson, director, Macomb County Friend of the Court

• Friend of LAD - Joon H. Sung, assistant professor of law, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law

• Frank D. Eaman Warrior of Justice -  Anthony T. Chambers, an attorney in private practice

• Ed Porknoy Pioneer of Justice - The Hon. Vera Massey-Jones, a judge of the Third Judicial Circuit of Michigan

The following attorneys will be recognized for contributing 50 hours or more of pro bono service: Daniel Nicholas Adams, Michelle A. Carter, Lindsay E. DeMoss, Ali R. Freeman, Kathryn Ariella Katz, Karen Glorio Luther, David Allen Malinowski, Roger Peter Meyers, Jessica Lynn Montgomery, Karen L. Piper, Jan Quasarano, Todd C. Schebor, James Allan Sheridan, Joon H. Sung, Tiffany Buckley-Norwood, Robert J. Dindoffer, Andrew J. Lievense, Alison B. Miramonti, Sherry O’Neal Taylor, Patrick O’Reilly, Niesa Trent Fagan, Thomas F. Sweeney and Joycelyn  Ward.

Tickets for the awards ceremony are $75 and are tax deductible.  Sponsorship packages are also available.

The entrance to the College for Creative Studies is located at the corner of W. Milwaukee and Cass Avenue in the former Argonaut Building.  Convenient free parking is available adjacent to the college.

To order tickets or secure sponsorships, contact Bedelia Brown at (313) 967-5619 or