Nominations sought for Annual Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award

Michigan Judges Association (MJA) President Timothy G. Hicks announced that the MJA is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award.

Given annually, the award recognizes current or former circuit or Court of Appeals judges who have demonstrated exemplary service by excelling in trial and docket management, legal scholarship, and contributions to the profession and the community.

This is the third year MJA has given out the award, named in honor of the late Hilda Gage who served on the Court of Appeals and Oakland County Circuit Court bench before passing away in 2010. She was known for her courage and scholarship. She was the first female president of MJA and the first woman to chair the Judicial Tenure Commission.

Kalamazoo County Circuit Court Judge J. Richardson Johnson received the award in its inaugural year. Last year's honoree was the James L. Ryan, formerly of the Third Circuit Court in Wayne County, the Michigan Supreme Court, and the United States Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Hicks said that MJA seeks nominees who follow in Gage's footsteps by "serving their state and their communities with integrity, skill, and courage every day."

Anyone can nominate a judge for the award. The deadline is Friday, July 20. Nominating forms can be obtained on the Michigan Judges Association website at, or by calling Hicks at (231) 724-6337.

Published: Fri, Jun 22, 2012