State Bar announces 2010 award winners

The State Bar of Michigan announces that the following individuals are the recipients of the 2010 SBM Awards, which will be presented at a banquet on Wednesday, Sept. 29, at this year's Annual Meeting in Grand Rapids.

The State Bar of Michigan awards and recipients are:

* Roberts P. Hudson Award: James C. Cotant.

* Frank J. Kelley Award: U.S. District Court Magistrate Judge Donald A. Scheer, Edward M. Zelenak.

* Champion of Justice Award: Charles W. Borgsdorf, John J. Conway and Gerard Mantese (shared), John R. Nussbaumer, James M. Olson, and Oakland County Circuit Court Judge Wendy L. Potts.

* Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award: Ingham County Bar Association.

* John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award: Eric I. Frankie.

* Liberty Bell Award: Audrey Gray.

The following individuals are the recipients of the State Bar Representative Assembly Awards, which will be presented at the Assembly's Sept. 30th meeting in Grand Rapids:

* Michael Franck: Sheldon J. Stark, John Van Bolt.

* Unsung Hero: Kevin Moody.

The Michigan State Bar Foundation Board of Trustees has named John W. Cummiskey (posthumously) as the recipient of its 2010 Founders Award. MSBF provides leadership and grants to improve access for all to the justice system, including support for civil legal aid to the poor, law-related education, and conflict resolution. For more information about MSBF, visit

Published: Mon, Jul 5, 2010


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »