Daily Briefs

Nominations sought for Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award

Given annually, the award recognizes current or former Circuit or Court of Appeals judges who have demonstrated exemplary service by excelling in trial and docket management, legal scholarship, and contributions to the profession and the community.
This is the fourth year MJA has given the award, named in honor of the late Hilda Gage. Judge Gage served with honor on the Court of Appeals and Oakland Circuit Bench before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship. She was the first female president of MJA and the first woman to chair the Judicial Tenure Commission.
The Hon. J. Richardson Johnson, of the Ninth Circuit Court in Kalamazoo, received the award in its inaugural year. Other honorees have been the Hon. James L. Ryan, formerly of the Third Circuit Court in Wayne County, the Michigan Supreme Court, and the United States Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the Hon. James C. Kingsley, of the Thirty-Seventh Circuit Court in Calhoun County.
MJA seeks nominees who follow in Judge Gage’s footsteps by “serving their state and their communities with integrity, skill, and courage every day.”
Anyone can nominate a judge for the award. The deadline is July 19.
Nominating forms can be obtained on the Michigan Judges Association website at www.michiganjudgesassociation.org, or by calling MJA Past-President Timothy G. Hicks at (231) 724-6337.

Detroit attorney’s book nominated for award

Attorney Gregory J. Reed compilation of letters, “Obama Talks Back: Global Lessons — A Dialogue with America’s Young Leaders” (Amber Books, Tony Rose, Publisher) has been nominated for the Phillis Wheatley 2013 Book Award. The award winners will be announced July 19 at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in New York City, from 7-9 p.m.
The Phillis Wheatley Book Award was named in honor of the first published African-American female writer, and is given for literary work and literary advocacy that transcends culture, boundary, and perception. Past recipients of the Phillis Wheatley Book Award have included Toni Morrison, Maya Angelou, Terry McMillian, Gordon Parks, Ruby Dee, Lynn Whitfield, Avery Brooks and etc.
Reed is the author of 16 books and has been awarded two NAACP Image Awards for “Outstanding Literature.” In addition to “Obama Talks Back: Global Lessons — A Dialogue with America’s Young Leaders,” he also received an Image Award for “Dear Mrs. Parks: A Dialogue with Today’s Youth” (1997) co-authored by Reed and Rosa Parks.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »