Shining Light Awards honor 3 for outstanding commitment to region

The 2017 Shining Light Regional Cooperation Awards will be presented to Eugene A. Gargaro, Jr., Tim Richey, and Sommer Woods for their important contributions to progress, cooperation, and understanding in Southeast Michigan. They will be honored on Thursday, October 5, 2017, at a special breakfast ceremony at the Ford Conference & Event Center in Dearborn, Michigan, beginning at 8 a.m.

The eleventh annual event is open to the public. Tickets are $60; tables of 10 are $600. For ticket information, visit the Shining Light Awards website or call 248-336-8623.

Eugene A. Gargaro, Jr., chairman of the board of the Detroit Institute of Arts, will receive the Neal Shine Award for Exemplary Regional Leadership for his long and successful career in law and business, his exceptional volunteer resume, and generous philanthropic support. His tireless efforts in the civic, community and education realm exemplify the true meaning of a servant leader.

Tim Richey, chief executive officer of Detroit PAL (Police Athletic League), will receive the Eleanor Josaitis Unsung Hero Award for his commitment to equity and serving the youth of Detroit and the region. He has made it his mission to offer kids of all ages and backgrounds opportunity through sports and education.

Sommer Woods, vice president of external relations, marketing and communications with M-1Rail, will receive the Dave Bing Future Leader Award for her commitment to mentoring young people, and her many accomplishments on major projects and activities that contribute to the vibrancy of our region.

Thom Linn, chairman emeritus and attorney with Miller Canfield and immediate past chair of the Metropolitan Affairs Coalition and co-chair of the Shining Light program said, "It is a special honor to salute these extraordinary leaders who have made significant contributions to the quality of life in Southeast Michigan."

Stephen Henderson, Detroit Free Press editorial page editor and member of the Shining Light Awards Committee added, "This year's award winners stand out among a strong group of candidates. They are truly breaking down barriers between often-siloed groups to create opportunities and a stronger metro region. They also show the broad and lasting positive effects of bold, inclusive leadership."

The Detroit Free Press and Metropolitan Affairs Coalition launched the Shining Light Awards in 2007 to highlight the critical importance of regional leadership and cooperation to the success of Southeast Michigan. The awards are named in memory of the late Neal Shine, former Detroit Free Press editor and publisher, who consistently demonstrated his dedication and commitment to the Greater Detroit community.

Published: Thu, Aug 31, 2017


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »