Wayne Law Commencement honors 149


Wayne State University Law School’s 2018 Commencement ceremony Monday, May 14, honored 149 recipients of degrees for December 2017 and candidates for degrees in May 2018 and August 2018.

Students eligible to participate in the ceremony included 141 for juris doctor and eight for master of laws. The ceremony was at the Detroit Opera House.

Delivering the keynote address was Michigan Supreme Court Justice Bridget Mary McCormack. McCormack was elected in 2012 and is the court’s liaison to Michigan’s business and tribal courts.

Also speaking were Dean Richard A. Bierschbach; Hon. Marilyn Kelly ’71, member of the WSU Board of Governors; WSU President M. Roy Wilson; James Kehoe, president of the Wayne Law Student Bar Association Board of Governors; and Associate Dean Susan Cancelosi.

Receiving awards for Professors of the Year were Christopher C. Lund and William Ortman.