Clement honored by American Judges Association


Michigan Supreme Court Justice Elizabeth T. Clement has received the 2019 “Harold V. Froehlich Award for Judicial Courage” from the American Judges Association (AJA). The award honors a judge or justice who makes impartial judgments based on the rule of law. Chief Justice Bridget M. McCormack, who nominated Justice Clement back in March, also presented the award to her during the AJA Annual Conference.

In her nomination letter, Chief Justice McCormack cited Justice Clement’s “unparalleled courage” while serving on the Michigan Supreme Court. She also noted the Justice Clement has exemplified what it means to have an “independent judiciary that is free from political pressure” and that her achievements have “set the bar high” for judges in Michigan and across the nation.

“Justice Clement has been courageous in her independence and fearless in making decisions that follow the law and our state constitution,” said Chief Justice McCormack.  “In the face of intense pressure, Justice Clement consistently stood her ground and did not waver. This award will memorialize her bravery and make her example one for colleagues nationwide to follow.”

Since its inception in 2013, the Froehlich Award annually recognizes the highest level of judicial courage in the service of justice. The award was named for former Wisconsin state legislator and congressman, Hon. Harold Froehlich, who later served as circuit court judge in Wisconsin until his retirement in 2011.

The American Judges Association’s aim is to promote and improve the effective administration of justice; to maintain the status and independence of the judiciary; to provide a forum for the continuing education of its members and the general public; and for the exchange of new ideas among all judges.