Granholm announces Recovery Act graduate fellowships

Gov. Jennifer Granholm has announced that six Michigan students, including three from the University of Michigan, are among 150 students across the country selected to receive graduate fellowships through the U.S. Department of Energy Graduate Fellowship Program.

The program is supported in part by $12.5 million in funding from the federal Recovery Act.

The program's goal is to encourage students to pursue graduate degrees in basic research in physics, biology, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, computational sciences and environmental science.

The six Michigan students selected are: Sarah Anderson, University of Michigan, physics; Stephen DeWitt, University of Michigan, engineering physics; Colin Gurganus, Michigan Technological University, atmospheric science; Carley Kratz, Michigan Technological University, forest science; Michelle Price, University of Michigan, applied physics; Ben Roller, Michigan State University, microbiology and molecular genetics.

Each graduate fellow will receive $50,500 a year for up to three years to assist with tuition, living expenses, research materials and travel to Department of Energy research facilities.

A complete list of awardees and eligibility requirements is available at the Office of Science Graduate Fellowship Program website at:

Published: Mon, Aug 16, 2010


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »