Winners of 2013 'Laddy' awards announced by LAD


 Legal Aid and Defender Association Inc. (LAD) has announced the winners of its 2013 “Laddy” awards honoring members of the legal community for their pro bono service to LAD clients:

• Pro Bono Attorney of the Year—Lindsay DeMoss, of Royal Oak, an attorney with Dickinson Wright PLLC.
• Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year—Miller Canfield PLC, Michael McGee.
• Kelvin W. Scott Pro Bono Corporation of the Year—Ford Motor Company Office of General Counsel, David Leitch.
• Pro Bono Spirit Macomb County—Melissa M. Pearce of Commerce Township, an attorney in private practice.
• Pro Bono Spirit Oakland County—Joycelyn Ward of Farmington Hills, an attorney in private practice.
• Pro Bono Spirit Wayne County—Khalilah V. Spencer of West Bloomfield, an attorney with Honigman, Miller, Schwartz, and Cohn LLP.
• Frank D. Eaman Warrior of Justice—Craig A. Daly of Royal Oak, an attorney in private practice. 
• Friend of LAD—Oakland County 43rd District Court Judge Charles G. Goedert.
LAD will also award Pangborn Pins for 100 hours or more of pro bono service to Ward and attorneys Charles Duncan, Timothy Knowlton, and Kelsey Switzer of Honigman Miller; Randi Glanz and Matthew Heron of Clark Hill PLC; and Alexander Simpson II of Bodman PLC.
The awards will be presented Thursday, Nov. 21, at 3 p.m. in the historic chief judge’s courtroom of the Theodore Levin United States Courthouse, 231 W. Lafayette St. in Detroit. 
For information concerning the ceremony or sponsorships, contact Bedelia Brown at LAD at 313-967-5619 or


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »