Wayne Law golf outing supports scholarship endowment

The 2015 Wayne Law Golf Outing on Monday, June 8, raised more than $28,000, nearly doubling the $15,000 raised by last year’s outing, for Wayne State University Law School scholarships.

The money goes toward an endowment to provide scholarships to assist second- and third-year students at the law school.

The scramble-format event was at the Country Club of Detroit in Grosse Pointe Farms. The day included lunch, a cocktail reception and dinner.

Platinum-level sponsors were Anthony and Tiffany Dietz, Lear Corp. and Lumen Legal. Gold-level sponsors were Tim Guerriero and Debra Marcon, as well as Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC.

At the reception, Wayne Law Dean Jocelyn Benson presented a scholarship of $1,000 to rising second-year student Gabe Appel.

The following golf awards also were presented:

• First-place team: Diversified Legal Staffing – Jim Grobbel; Mark Grobbel, Wayne Law class of 1983; Bob Sauer; and Terry Tripp with a score of 62.

• Runners-up: Matt Cunningham, Wayne Law senior gift officer; Mike Horn, WSU head golf coach; Larry Mann, retired, class of 1980; and Rasul Raheem, senior vice president and assistant general counsel at Bank of America, class of 1984.

• Longest drive (men): Jeff Woods of FedEx Office.

• Longest drive (women): U.S. Bankruptcy Court Judge Marci McIvor, Eastern District of Michigan, class of 1982.

• Closest to the pin (men): Paul Thursam of Giarmarco, Mullins & Horton PC, class of 2008.

• Closest to the pin (women) – Pamela Kroll of Caputo Brosnan PC.

• Shoot-out winner – Kenneth Merritt of Collins, Einhorn, Farrell PC.

Golf outing committee members were David Galbenski of Lumen Legal, class of 1993; Henry Brennan III of Howard & Howard, class of 1983; Anthony Dietz of Law Offices of Shannon Shaya PC, class of 1997; Tim Guerriero, retired, class of 1980; Wayne Law Professor Peter Henning; Paul Hines of Gasiorek, Morgan, Greco & McCauley PC, class of 1973; Terry Larkin of Lear Corp., class of 1979; Larry Mann, retired, class of 1980; David McClaughry of Ingrassia Fisher & Lorenz PC; class of 1993; and Brittany Schultz of Dykema Gossett PLLC, class of 2001.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »