Federal Bar Association accepting McCree Award nominations

Nominations are being accepted for this year’s Wade Hampton McCree Jr. Award for the Advancement of Social Justice. This award is presented by the Federal Bar Association, Eastern District of Michigan Chapter, to individuals or organizations who have made significant contributions to the advancement of social justice in areas involving poverty, promoting economic or educational opportunity, or fighting discrimination involving race, gender, ethnicity, national origin, religion, or economic status. The recipient may be selected from any field of endeavor including but not limited to law, social service, community organization, volunteer activities, journalism, or academics.

This year’s presentation will be made on February 27, 2018 at a luncheon to be held at the Westin, Book Cadillac.

Past Recipients have included: Mayor Dennis Archer, Judge George Crockett Jr., Ernest Goodman, Mildred Jeffrey, Judge Damon Keith, Governor George Romney, Fr. William Cunningham, Governor William Miliken, Maryann Mahaffey, Alternatives for Girls, Saul Green, Eleanor Josaitis, Friends School, Eugene Driker, Freedom House, Father N. Thomas, Jack Kresnak, the legal defense team members in Neal v. Michigan Department of Corrections, Mary Sue Coleman, Kathleen Straus, Martin I. Reisig, PBJ Outreach, Florise Neville-Ewell, Dr. Daniel H. Krichbaum, and John Van Camp.

Send nominations by February 2, 2018, to Cynthia Haffey, Butzel Long PC, 150 W. Jefferson Ave., Ste. 100, Detroit, 48226; email: haffey@butzel.com.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »