Nominations sought for Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award

The Michigan Judges Association (MJA) is accepting nominations until June 26 for its 13th annual Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award. The award is named in honor of the late Judge Hilda Gage, who served on the Michigan Court of Appeals and Oakland County Circuit Court before passing away in 2010.

Gage blazed trails for women in the profession by becoming the first female chairperson of the Judicial Tenure Commission (1986) and the first female president of MJA (1987). She was renowned for her courage and scholarship.

Since 2010, MJA has annually recognized a current or former judge who demonstrates:

• Competence in docket management and managing trials.

• Contributions to the profession.

• Contributions to legal scholarship.

• Contributions to the community.

Nominees must be MJA members in good standing and must have served as either a Court of Appeals judge or circuit court judge at some point in their career. The nominations will be evaluated by a committee consisting of attorneys as well as current and former judges. Nomination packages should include the completed nomination form (available at, the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and any supporting letters or other information. All materials (in one package) must be submitted by June 26 to Judge Gerald M. Prill, MJA Outreach Committee co-chair, at

Past award recipients include:

• Judge Colleen O’Brien (2022)

• Judge Laura Baird (2021)

• Judge Christopher Yates (2019)

• Judge Thomas Solka (2018)

• Judge James Alexander  (2017)

• Judge Alton Tom Davis (2016)

• Judge Timothy Connors (2015)

• Judge Joan Young (2014)

• Judge Barry Howard (2013)

• Judge James Kingsley (2012)

• Judge James Ryan (2011)

• Judge J. Richardson Johnson (2010)

The Michigan Judges Association is the judicial organization for judges in Michigan circuit courts and the Court of Appeals.

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available