Daily Briefs . . .

9 Wayne Law alumnae recognized as 2015 Women in the Law

Nine of the 30 Michigan attorneys on the 2015 Women in the Law list recently released by Michigan Lawyers Weekly are alumnae of Wayne State University Law School.
The awards program recognizes high-achieving women lawyers in Michigan and their accomplishments, according to the publication. The 30 attorneys will be formally honored during a Sept. 10 luncheon in Troy, where the honorees will choose one 2015 Woman of the Year by secret ballot. An upcoming special section of Michigan Lawyers Weekly will feature the 30 lawyers on the list.

The Wayne Law alumnae named are:

• Megan Bonanni, Class of 1993, Pitt McGehee Palmer & Rivers PC

• Ardiana Culaj, Class of 2007, The Thurswell Law Firm PLLC

• Sara Kruse, Class of 1996, Jaffe Raitt Heuer & Weiss PC

• Laurel McGiffert, Class of 1980, Plunkett Cooney

• Donna Medina, Class of 1990, Williams Williams Rattner & Plunkett PC

• Sarah Nadeau, Class of 2000, Garan Lucow Miller PC

• Dana Nessel, Class of 1994, Nessel & Kessel Law

• Hon. Wendy Potts, Class of 1977, Oakland County Circuit Court

• Margaret Scott, Class of 1988, Secrest Wardle Lynch Hampton Truex and Morley PC.


Chief judges named in Berrien, Menominee and Wayne Counties

The Michigan Supreme Court last week appointed three new chief judges: Chief Judge Gary J. Bruce replaces retired Chief Judge Thomas E. Nelson in the Berrien Unified Trial Court; Chief Judge Jeffrey G. Barstow replaces retired Chief Judge William A. Hupy in Menominee Probate Court; and Chief Judge Freddie G. Burton, Jr. replaces Chief Judge Milton L. Mack, Jr. in Wayne County Probate Court. Judge Mack was appointed State Court Administrator in July.

Chief Judge Bruce is currently Chief Judge Pro Tem of the Berrien Unified Trial Court and presiding judge of the Criminal Division.  First elected to the court in 1998, Chief Judge Bruce was most recently re-elected in 2010. Previously, he worked in private practice and also served as a Berrien County Assistant Prosecuting Attorney from 1983 to 1987. He received his law degree from Thomas M. Cooley Law School in 1980.

Chief Judge Barstow was first elected to the bench in 1984, was re-elected last year to a sixth term, and also serves as Chief Judge of the 95A District Court in Menominee. Chief Judge Barstow earned his law degree from South Texas College of Law.

Chief Judge Burton joined the Wayne County Probate Court in 1987 and was most recently re-elected in 2012. Before becoming a judge, he practiced law and served as a Wayne County Commissioner and a public administrator. He received his law degree from Wayne State University Law School.

Each judge will serve for the remainder of 2015 when the Supreme Court considers appointments for the new term in 2016.