Nominations sought for Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award

The Michigan Judges Association (MJA) is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award. The award is named in honor of the late Judge Hilda Gage, who served on the Court of Appeals and Oakland Circuit Bench before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship, was the first female President of MJA, and the first female chairperson of the Judicial Tenure Commission.

In 2010, MJA created the Hilda Gage Award to recognize judicial excellence. Each year, the association recognizes a current or former judge who demonstrates:

- Competence in docket management and managing trials;

- Contributions to the profession;

- Contributions to legal scholarship;

- Contributions to the community.

The nominee must be a member in good standing of the MJA and must have served as a Court of Appeals or Circuit Court Judge at some point in his/her career. Past recipients of the Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award include:

- J. Richardson Johnson 2010

- James Ryan 2011

- James Kingsley 2012

- Barry Howard 2013

- Joan Young 2014

- Timothy Connors 2015

The nominations are evaluated by a blue-ribbon committee consisting of attorneys and both current and former judges. The nomination package should include:

- nomination form (attached);

- nominee's curriculum vitae; and

- supporting letters or other information.

Either complete and submit the nomination form on line via the MJA website, or print the nomination form, and submit it with the supporting information in one package. The nominations must be submitted by July 20, 2016. Please send the nomination package to: Hon. Jon Hulsing, 20th Circuit Court, Ottawa County, 414 Washington Street, Suite 300, Grand Haven, MI 49417; or

Published: Fri, Jul 01, 2016