State Bar announces 2015 Commissioner, Representative Assemby election results

The State Bar of Michigan announced the following election results last week:

SBM Board of Commissioners

Four attorneys—Dana M. Warnez, the Hon. Clinton Canady III, Erane C. Washington and the Hon. Michael J. Riordan—won contested seats in this year's Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2018 Annual Meeting.

Dana M. Warnez, elected to serve District D representing Macomb and St. Clair counties, focuses her practice on probate and estate planning, drafting and administering trusts and real estate matters at Schoenherr, Cahill & Warnez P.C. in Center Line. The Hon. Clinton Canady III, elected to serve District E representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm and Shiawassee counties, serves as a judge in the General Trial Division of Ingham County's 30th Circuit Court. Erane C. Washington, elected to serve District G representing Jackson and Washtenaw counties, is the principal of the law firm of Erane C. Washington-Kendrick, PLLC, an Ann Arbor law firm focused on real estate, business and commercial litigation. The Hon. Michael J. Riordan, elected to serve District H, representing Lenawee, Monroe and Wayne counties, serves as a judge of the Michigan Court of Appeals.

Two attorneys won unopposed races to the State Bar Board of Commissioners in District I, representing Oakland County. Both will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2018 Annual Meeting. The Hon. Maureen M. McGinnis serves as a judge in the 54-2 District Court in Troy. Jules B. Olsman is the president of Olsman Mueller Wallace & MacKenzie PC in Berkley.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards and member services and communications.

SBM Representative Assembly
Eleven attorneys won contested races for the SBM Representative Assembly.

Nine attorneys, including Susan L. Haroutunian, Vincent A. Romano, Richard L. Cunningham, Elizabeth M. Johnson, Diane Hutcherson, John C. Philo, John F. Clark, Elizabeth A. Young and Aghogho O. Edevbie won contested elections to represent Wayne County for the Third Circuit.

Ashish S. Joshi and Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop won contested elections to represent Washtenaw County for the 22nd Circuit.

Thirty-six attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Representative Assembly. These new members are:

First Circuit—Hillsdale County

Barry F. Poulson

Second Circuit—Berrien County

Mary Margaret-LaSata Spiegel

Fourth Circuit—Jackson County

Erica L. Zimny

Sixth Circuit—Oakland County

Michael D. Elkins

Mark L. Teicher

Kenneth B. Morgan

James P. Brennan

Krista L. Haroutunian

Heather J. Atnip

Cesare A. Sclafani

Anthony J. Kochis

Matthew M. Aneese

Christian G. Ohanian

Patrick D. Crandell

Matthew J. Turchyn

Seventh Circuit—Genesee County

Chadd A. O'Brien

Eighth Circuit—Ionia and Montcalm Counties

Tracie L. McCarn-Dinehart

Ninth Circuit—Kalamazoo County

Pamela C. Enslen

10th Circuit—Saginaw County

Thomas H. Fancher

John P. Lozano

14th Circuit—Muskegon County

David B. Kortering

15th Circuit—Branch County

William D. Renner II

16th Circuit—Macomb County

Ryan Zemke

Sterlin Mesadieu

17th Circuit—Kent County

Nicholas  M. Ohanesian

Nicholas V. Dondzila

19th Circuit—Benzie and Manistee Counties

Mark Quinn

23rd Circuit—Alcona, Arenac, Iosco and Oscoda Counties

Ann V. Hopcroft

30th Circuit—Ingham County

Carmen G. Fahie

34th Circuit—Ogemaw and Roscommon Counties

Dawn M. LaCasse

38th Circuit—Monroe County

Michael C. Brown

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County

David A. Marvin

49th Circuit—Mecosta and Osceola Counties

Nathan L. Hull

52nd Circuit–Huron County

Suzanne M. Krohn

53rd Circuit–Cheboygan and Presque Isle Counties

Aaron J. Gauthier

57th Circuit–Emmet County

Christina L. DeMoore

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body.

Judicial Tenure Commission

The Hon. Lawrence S. Talon, of Detroit, won an uncontested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2016
and will expire on Dec. 31, 2018.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.