Duly Noted . . .

Fraser Trebilcock receives Your Honor award for website

Fraser Trebilcock is proud to announce that its marketing team took home the top honor for the redesign of the law firm's website, during the Legal Marketing Association Midwest Chapter's annual awards ceremony last week in Chicago.

There were a record number of submissions this year for the regional Your Honor Awards, which recognize outstanding achievement and innovation in legal marketing, business development, and design.

The new fraserlawfirm.com features enhanced attorney biographies, a dynamic search feature, and interactive Google maps – all with effortless navigation on desktop and mobile.


Chief judges appointed to circuit, probate, district and municipal courts

On Oct. 14, the Michigan Supreme Court  announced the appointment of chief judges for circuit, probate, district, and municipal courts statewide.  With the appointment of 50 multicourt chief judges, the number of single court chief judges appointed to lead trial courts has been cut by two-thirds since 2010.

“Chief judges play a critical role in driving change to help courts become more efficient, save tax dollars, and improve service to the public,” said Michigan Supreme Court Chief Justice Robert P. Young, Jr. “In particular, multicourt chief judges are better positioned to make the difficult decisions needed to help streamline court processes, share workloads, and implement best practices that improve outcomes.”

In the past, each circuit, probate, and district court had its own chief judge and related bureaucracy.  Through the appointment of multi-court chief judges, the total number of chief judges has been cut by more than 40 percent since 2010.

The appointment of multicourt chief judges is part of a comprehensive Supreme Court plan to reengineer the state’s trial courts to increase efficiency and improve service.  For example, rightsizing of the Michigan judiciary is already on course to trim 40 judgeships statewide, saving taxpayers $175 million.

Kent County appointments are: 17th Circuit Court Hon. Donald A. Johnston, III; Kent County Probate Court Hon. David M. Murkowski; 59th District Court Hon, Peter P. Versluis; 61st District Court Hon. Jeanine Nemesi LaVille; 62A District Court Hon. Steven M. Timmers; 62B District Court Hon. William G. Kelly; 63rd District Court Hon. Sara J. Smolenski.

The appointments are for a two-year term commencing on January 1, 2016.