MJA accepting nominations

 The Michigan Judges Association announces that it is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award. 

Given annually, the award recognizes current or former Circuit or Court of Appeals Judges who have demonstrated exemplary service by excelling in trial and docket management, legal scholarship, and contributions to the profession and the community. 
This is the fifth year MJA has given out the award, named in honor of the late Hilda Gage. Judge Gage served with honor on the Oakland Circuit and Court of Appeals benches before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship. She was the first female President of MJA and the first woman to chair the Judicial Tenure Commission. 
The Hon. J. Richardson Johnson, of the Ninth Circuit Court in Kalamazoo, received the award in its inaugural year. Other honorees include the Hon. James L. Ryan, formerly of the Michigan Supreme Court and the United States Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, the Hon. James C. Kingsley of the Thirty-Seventh Circuit Court in Calhoun County, and the Hon. Barry L. Howard, formerly of the Sixth Circuit Court in Oakland County. 
MJA seeks nominees following Judge Gage’s footsteps by “serving their state and their communities with integrity, skill, and courage every day.” 
Anyone can nominate a judge for the award. The deadline is July 11, 2014. For a nomination form, please contact Jason Blevins at blevinsja@co.muskegon.mi.us or (231) 724-6452. 

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available