State Bar of Michigan announces 2015 election results

The following are the results of the State Bar of Michigan’s 2015 election results:

SBM Board of Commissioners

Four attorneys—Dana M. Warnez, Ingham County Circuit Court Judge Clinton Canady III, Erane C. Washington, and Michigan Court of Appeals Judge Michael J. Riordan—won contested seats in this year’s Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2018 Annual Meeting.

Dana M. Warnez, elected to serve District D representing Macomb and St. Clair counties, focuses her practice on probate and estate planning, drafting and administering trusts and real estate matters at Schoenherr, Cahill & Warnez PC in Center Line.

Judge Clinton Canady III, elected to serve District E representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm and Shiawassee counties, serves as a judge in the General Trial Division of Ingham County’s 30th Circuit Court.

Erane C. Washington, elected to serve District G representing Jackson and Washtenaw counties, is the principal of the law firm of Erane C. Washington-Kendrick PLLC, an Ann Arbor law firm focused on real estate, business and commercial litigation.

Judge Michael J. Riordan, elected to serve District H, representing Lenawee, Monroe and Wayne counties, serves as a judge of the Michigan Court of Appeals.

Two attorneys won unopposed races to the State Bar Board of Commissioners in District I, representing Oakland County. Both will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2018 Annual Meeting. Judge Maureen M. McGinnis serves as a judge in the 54-2 District Court in Troy. Jules B. Olsman is the president of Olsman Mueller Wallace & MacKenzie PC in Berkley.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards and member services and communications.

SBM Representative Assembly

Eleven attorneys won contested races for the SBM Representative Assembly.

Nine attorneys, including Susan L. Haroutunian, Vincent A. Romano, Richard L. Cunningham, Elizabeth M. Johnson, Diane Hutcherson, John C. Philo, John F. Clark, Elizabeth A. Young and Aghogho O. Edevbie won contested elections to represent Wayne County for the Third Circuit.

Ashish S. Joshi and Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop won contested elections to represent Washtenaw County for the 22nd Circuit.

Thirty-six attorneys won unopposed races in the State Bar Representative Assembly. These new members are:

First Circuit—Hillsdale County
Barry F. Poulson

Second Circuit—Berrien County
Mary Margaret-LaSata Spiegel

Fourth Circuit—Jackson County
Erica L. Zimny

Sixth Circuit—Oakland County
Michael D. Elkins
Mark L. Teicher
Kenneth B. Morgan
James P. Brennan
Krista L. Haroutunian
Heather J. Atnip
Cesare A. Sclafani
Anthony J. Kochis
Matthew M. Aneese
Christian G. Ohanian
Patrick D. Crandell
Matthew J. Turchyn

Seventh Circuit—Genesee County
Chadd A. O’Brien

Eighth Circuit—Ionia and Montcalm Counties
Tracie L. McCarn-Dinehart

Ninth Circuit—Kalamazoo County
Pamela C. Enslen

10th Circuit—Saginaw County
Thomas H. Fancher
John P. Lozano

14th Circuit—Muskegon County
David B. Kortering

15th Circuit—Branch County
William D. Renner II

16th Circuit—Macomb County
Ryan Zemke
Sterlin Mesadieu

17th Circuit—Kent County
Nicholas  M. Ohanesian
Nicholas V. Dondzila

19th Circuit—Benzie and Manistee Counties
Mark Quinn

23rd Circuit—Alcona, Arenac, Iosco and Oscoda Counties
Ann V. Hopcroft

30th Circuit—Ingham County
Carmen G. Fahie

34th Circuit—Ogemaw and Roscommon Counties
Dawn M. LaCasse

38th Circuit—Monroe County
Michael C. Brown

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County
David A. Marvin

49th Circuit—Mecosta and Osceola Counties
Nathan L. Hull

52nd Circuit–Huron County
Suzanne M. Krohn

53rd Circuit–Cheboygan and Presque Isle Counties
Aaron J. Gauthier

57th Circuit–Emmet County
Christina L. DeMoore

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body.

Judicial Tenure Commission

Wayne County Circuit Court Judge Lawrence S. Talon won an uncontested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2016 and will expire on Dec. 31, 2018.
The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Syeda Davidson, of Clinton Township, won an uncontested election in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for a two-year term expiring in 2017.

Two attorneys—Samantha J. Orvis, of Troy, and Matthew P. Breuer, of Bloomfield Hills—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2017.

Three attorneys—Kara R. Hart-Negrich, of Lansing; Laura M. Kubit, of Caro; and Elizabeth K. Abdnour, of East Lansing—won uncontested elections in District Three, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2017.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar’s largest sections.

The section provides education, information and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs and newsletters.

The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.