Nominations sought for Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award

The Michigan Judges Association (MJA) is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award. The award is named in honor of the late Judge Hilda Gage.  Gage served on the Court of Appeals and Oakland County Circuit Court before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship.  Gage was the first female President of MJA and the first female chairperson of the Judicial Tenure Commission.

In 2010, MJA created the Hilda Gage Award to recognize judicial excellence.  Each year, the association recognizes a current or former judge who demonstrates:

• Competence in docket management and managing trials.
• Contributions to the profession.
• Contributions to legal scholarship.
• Contributions to the community.

The nominee must be a member in good standing of the MJA and must have served as a Court of Appeals or circuit court judge as some point in his/her career.  Past recipients of the Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award include:

Judge Alton Tom Davis, 2016.
Judge Timothy Connors, 2015.
Judge Joan Young, 2014.
Judge Barry Howard, 2013.
Judge James Kingsley, 2012.
Judge James Ryan, 2011.
Judge J. Richardson Johnson, 2010.         

The nominations are evaluated by a committee consisting of attorneys and both current and former judges.  The nomination package should include:

—The nomination form.
—The nominee’s curriculum vitae.
—Any supporting letters or other information.

The nomination form is available on the MJA website (   All materials should be submitted in one package.  The nominations must be received by Friday, June 23.
Mail or email (preferred)  the nomination package to:

Ottawa County 20th Circuit Court Judge Jon Hulsing,,  414 Washington Street, Suite 300, Grand Haven, 49417; or,