Nominations sought for Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award

The Michigan Judges Association (MJA) is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award. The award is named in honor of the late Judge Hilda Gage. Gage served on the Court of Appeals and Oakland Circuit Court bench before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship. Gage was the first female president of MJA and the first female chairperson of the Judicial Tenure Commission.

In 2010, MJA created the Hilda Gage Award to recognize judicial excellence. Each year, the association recognizes a current or former judge who demonstrates:

- Competence in docket management and managing trials
- Contributions to the profession
- Contributions to legal scholarship
- Contributions to the community

The nominee must be a member in good standing of the MJA and must have served as a Court of Appeals or circuit court judge at some point in his/her career.

The nominations are evaluated by a blue-ribbon committee consisting of attorneys and both current and former judges. The nomination package should include:

- The nomination form.
- The nominee's curriculum vitae.
- Any supporting letters or other information.

The nomination form is available on the MJA website ( All materials should be submitted in one package. The nominations must be received by June 23. Mail or e-mail (preferred) the nomination package to: Judge Gerald M. Prill, 52nd Circuit Court, Huron County, 250 East Huron Avenue, Suite 207, Bad Axe, MI 48413 or

Published: Tue, May 28, 2019