OCBA issues call for award nominees for June 4 event


Now is the time to submit award nominations for the Oakland County Bar Association Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony which will be held June 4 at The Community House in Birmingham.

The awards to be presented are: Distinguished Service Award; Professionalism Award; Distinguished Career Achievement Award; Distinguished Public Servant Award; Frances R. Avadenka Memorial Award; and Bonnie L. Beutler Outstanding New Lawyer Award.

Access the award criteria and past recipients by visiting the OCBA website at OCBA.org. A nomination letter for any of the above awards, inclusive of the nominee's activities and how that person fits the criteria, should be e-mailed to Jennifer Roosenberg, executive director of the OCBA.

The deadline to submit nominations is 5 p.m. today.

Last year, retired Oakland County Circuit Court Judge Joan Young was the recipient of the Distinguished Career Achievement Award from the OCBA.

Judge Maureen McGinnis, of the Oakland County 52-4 District Court in Troy, was honored as the 2019 winner of the Distinguished Public Servant Award.

Silvia Alexandria Mansoor was named the recipient of the Bonnie L. Beutler Outstanding New Lawyer Award in 2019.

Sheldon Larkey, a past president of the OCBA, was the recipient of the Professionalism Award for 2019.

Kurt Schnelz, also a past president of the OCBA, was the winner of the Professionalism Award.

Larry Powe, an attorney for more than 40 years, was the recipient of the Frances R. Avadenka Memorial Award.


Subscribe to the Legal News!


Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available