Daily Briefs (Feb. 23)

Civil rights chief Kelvin W. Scott dies of cancer

LANSING, Mich. (AP) — State officials say Michigan Department of Civil Rights Director Kelvin W. Scott has died of cancer.

State Civil Rights Commission Chairman Matthew Wesaw says the 47-year-old Scott died Saturday. Gov. Jennifer Granholm appointed Scott to the rights commission in 2004. He was named the civil rights agency’s director last year.

Granholm called Scott “a great champion” of the civil rights cause in a statement issued Sunday.

Before being appointed director, Scott was vice president, general counsel, and corporate secretary for Plastech Engineered Products, Inc. He also worked as associate corporate counsel for Masco Corporation; trial attorney with Kienbaum, Opperwall, Hardy, and Pelton; assistant U.S. attorney with the Criminal Division of the U.S. Attorney’s Office in the Eastern District of Michigan; and associate and partner with Dickinson Wright. He was a member of the board of directors of Legal Aid and Defender Association of Detroit and served as its treasurer. A past president of the Wolverine Bar Association, Scott also served as president of the Detroit chapter of the National Black Prosecutors Association and as a former state representative to the national organization. He served on the board of directors for the Barristers of the Detroit Metropolitan Bar Association from 1990 to 1994 and received its Distinguished Service Award in 1994. He was a member of ICLE’s Labor and Employment Law Advisory Board and a fellow of the Michigan State Bar Foundation.

He earned his law degree from Georgetown University Law Center and his bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University.

The state Department of Civil Rights says Scott is survived by his wife Ursula Henry and his parents.

Wayne Law Review Editorial Board for 2010-2011 named

Eighteen Wayne State University Law School students were recently elected to the 2010-2011 Wayne Law Review Editorial Board.

Twenty-one of the Review’s 30 second-year assistant editors applied for 18 editorial board positions. Students elected to the 2010-2011 Editorial Board include: Editor-in-Chief Louis Meizlish; Executive Articles Editor Elizabeth M. Kruman; Executive Note & Comment Editor Alexandra I. Papasifakis; Managing Editor Robert L. Avers; Production Editor Mary J. Weindorf; Survey Editor Melina Lito; Senior Note & Comment Editors Michael R. Kon, Andrew Mast, Erica A. Moise, Erika A. Monfette and Richard A. Treusch; and Senior Articles Editors Drew A. Carnwath, Roquia K. Draper, Jason A. Kanter, Richard L. Merpi II, Robert Z. Rogosich, Jacob A. Stamell and Zachary R. Tucker.

“My congratulations to the new members of the Editorial Board,” said Wayne Law Dean and Professor Robert M. Ackerman. “The outgoing Board has performed marvelously, and I am confident that the new Board will be equal to the task. I look forward to working with them.”

The incoming Editorial Board will officially begin its tenure on the first Monday following Commencement in May.

For more information regarding The Wayne Law Review, please call (313) 577-3939 or send an email to lawreview@wayne.edu.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »