CLEO prepares to celebrate 45th anniversary

MSU Law among law schools to be recognized

The Council on Legal Education (CLEO) will recognize 45 individuals, 45 law schools and 45 law firms, corporations and associations for their generous support of CLEO at the organization’s 45th Anniversary Reception. The reception takes place Thursday, September 26 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

The 135 honorees are being recognized as the inaugural group of “William A. Blakey Diversity Pipeline Architects,” in honor of CLEO’s late beloved chairman/chairman emeritus, William “Buddy” Blakey.

CLEO’s Executive Director, Cassandra Sneed Ogden, said “CLEO is very proud of our 45 years of helping to ‘change the face’ of the legal profession. We are truly excited about acknowledging our inaugural group of ‘William A. Blakey Diversity Pipeline Architects’ in the nation’s capital.  Without their ongoing support, it would have been difficult to carry out the important work the organization has done since 1968.

We also take great joy in knowing that Buddy would be extremely pleased to see his legacy carried on in this fashion. This is a major milestone in CLEO’s long and storied existence and we look forward to having a great turnout at next month’s reception.”

Blakey dedicated the majority of his professional life to ensuring that the educational “pipeline” was readily accessible to all students who exhibited the aptitude, fortitude, and passion to successfully pursue a quality education. By supporting CLEO and organizations like it, these “architects” are doing their part to help ensure that the legacy Buddy worked diligently to establish is carried on in perpetuity.

To see a complete listing of the 135 “William A. Blakey Diversity Pipeline Architects” and for more specific details about the reception, visit CLEO’s “45 for 45” event page.

In addition to MSU Law, other law schools to be recognized are: University of Akron; Albany; Boston College; Brigham Young University; University of California, Davis; Benjamin N. Cardozo; Case Western Reserve University; Catholic University of America;

Chicago-Kent; University of Colorado; DePaul University; University of the District of Columbia; Drake University; Duke University; Fordham University; Hofstra University; University of Houston; Howard University; University of Idaho; John Marshall (Illinois); University of Maryland; University of Memphis; University of Miami; University of Mississippi; University of Missouri; Notre Dame; Nova Southeastern University; Ohio State University; Pace University; University of Pittsburgh; Quinnipiac University;

Roger Williams University; SMU Dedman; South Texas; Southern Illinois University; Stetson University; Suffolk University; SUNY Buffalo; University of Texas; Thomas Jefferson; Touro College; Vermont; William Mitchell; and the University of Wisconsin.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »