Daily Briefs

ABA announces council members and special advisors for its new Center for Innovation

The American Bar Association announced the Governing and Advisory Council members as well as the special advisors for the newly formed ABA Center for Innovation in Chicago.

The Center will advance the ABA’s position as the lead architect of the legal profession’s efforts to increase access to justice and improve the delivery of legal services through innovative programs and initiatives. It will serve as a resource for ABA members and operate a program of fellowships to work with other professionals, such as technologists, entrepreneurs and design professionals.  The Center also will maintain an inventory of the ABA’s innovation efforts as well as the efforts of the domestic and international legal services community.

“Extraordinary talent has been recruited from the tech and design worlds to join forces with respected leaders of the bar to govern the Center,” said Linda A. Klein, president of the ABA. “This unprecedented collaboration will assure that out of the Center will come a surge in legal services delivery innovations that will benefit the public for decades to come.”

Andrew Perlman, Dean of Suffolk University Law School, will chair the Governing Council. Janet Jackson, formerly the director of the ABA’s Office of the President, will serve as managing director of the Center.
The Councils include leaders from the legal profession and business community, the judiciary, and legal education, as well as young lawyers, legal service innovators, and thought leaders from other industries.
The Governing Council includes:

— Ramon A. Abadin, partner at Sedgwick LLP in Miami

— Nathan D. Alder, attorney with Christensen & Jensen in Salt Lake City

— Chad Burton, CEO of CuroLegal in Dayton, Ohio

— Karl Camillucci, attorney at Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP in Chicago

— Mark Chandler, Senior Vice President and General Counsel at Cisco in San Jose, Calif.

— Rudy Gadre, angel investor and former General Counsel of Facebook, Seattle, Wash.

— Margaret Hagan, fellow at Stanford Law School Center on the Legal Profession

— Dana M. Hrelic, partner at Horton, Shield & Knox in Hartford, Ct.

— Mary McQueen, president of the National Center for State Courts in Williamsburg, Va.

— Camille Nelson, dean of the Washington College of Law American University in Washington, D.C.

— Rebecca L. Sandefur, faculty fellow at the American Bar Foundation in Chicago

— Marty Smith, founding director of MetaJure, Inc. in Bainbridge Island, Wash.

— Hon. Eric T. Washington, chief judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

The Advisory Council includes:

— Hon. Ann Aiken, district judge of the U.S. District Court of Oregon in Eugene

— Lisa Foster, director of the Office of Access to Justice in Washington, D.C. (not serving in her official capacity)

— Jordan Furlong, principal with Law21 in Ottawa

— Martha Minow, dean of Harvard Law School in Cambridge, Mass.

— Janai Nelson, associate director-counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund in New York

— Alex “Sandy” Pentland, director at the MIT Connection Science and Human Dynamic Labs in Cambridge, Mass.

— Daniel Rodriguez, dean of Northwestern Pritzker Law School

— James J. Sandman, president of the Legal Services Corporation in Washington, D.C.

— Ed Walters, CEO of FastCase in Washington, D.C.

— Denis Weil, innovation executive in Chicago