Moot Court Champs


The team of 3L Kelsey Knudsen, 2L Polina Hristova, and 2L Yasmeen Ebbini from Michigan State University College of Law won the recent William E. McGee National Civil Rights Moot Court Competition in St. Paul, Minn., beating 28 competing teams. The MSU team went undefeated, winning all three preliminary rounds and eliminating the opposition in quarterfinals, semifinals, and finals. The team also had second best brief, by .333 points. The brief was assessed a 2 point technical penalty due to the competition's decision that the color "watermelon" was not "red" as required by the competition rules. If not for this penalty, MSU would have had the highest scoring brief by a statistically significant margin. Pictured (l-r) Coach and MSU Law alumnus David Sheaffer, Hristova, Knudsen, and Ebbini.

Photo courtesy of MSU Law