Daily Briefs

36th District Court expands moratorium on evictions due to virus

While the 36th District Court previously issued a moratorium on evictions on March 13, the court has now expanded the moratorium to include areas outlined in Gov. Gretchen Whitmer’s Executive Order 2020-19 (COVID-19), which was issued on March 20.

Effective immediately, it is now prohibited for any person to enter a residential property to remove or exclude a tenant from the premises, except when the tenant poses a substantial risk to another person or an imminent risk to property. Furthermore, while a tenant still has an obligation to pay rent under a lease, a landlord may not serve a demand for payment of rent during this time.

Any statutory restrictions on the court’s ability to adjourn proceedings, toll redemption or limitation periods, or extend any deadline is also suspended until 30 days after the temporary suspension of evictions expires.

The temporary suspension regarding evictions will continue until April 17, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.


OCBA issues call for award nominees

Now is the time to submit award nominations for the Oakland County Bar Association Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony, which will be held June 4 at The Community House in Birmingham.

The awards to be presented are: Distinguished Service Award; Professionalism Award; Distinguished Career Achievement Award; Distinguished Public Servant Award; Frances R. Avadenka Memorial Award; and Bonnie L. Beutler Outstanding New Lawyer Award.

Access the award criteria and past recipients by visiting the OCBA website at OCBA.org. A nomination letter for any of the above awards, inclusive of the nominee's activities and how that person fits the criteria, should be e-mailed to Jennifer Roosenberg, executive director of the OCBA.

The deadline to submit nominations is 5 p.m. this Friday, March 27.

Last year, retired Oakland County Circuit Judge Joan Young was the recipient of the Distinguished Career Achievement Award from the OCBA.

Judge Maureen McGinnis of the 52-4 District Court in Troy was honored as the 2019 winner of the Distinguished Public Servant Award.

Silvia Alexandria Mansoor was named the recipient of the Bonnie L. Beutler Outstanding New Lawyer Award in 2019.

Sheldon Larkey, a past president of the OCBA, was the recipient of the Professionalism Award for 2019.

Kurt Schnelz, also a past president of the OCBA, was the winner of the Professionalism Award.

Larry Powe, an attorney for more than 40 years, was the recipient of the Frances R. Avadenka Memorial Award.


Subscribe to the Legal News!


Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available