Duly Noted

State Bar award nominations due Apr. 1

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. Apr. 1 for five major State Bar of Michigan awards to be presented at the 2011 Annual Meeting in Dearborn.

The Roberts P. Hudson Award goes to a person whose career has exemplified the highest ideals of the profession. This award is presented periodically to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar, given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice. The highest award conferred by the Bar.

The Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a Michigan attorney holding elected or appointive office. Created by the Board of Commissioners in 1998, it was first awarded to Frank J. Kelley for his record-setting tenure as Michigan's chief lawyer.

The Champion of Justice Award is given for extraordinary individual accomplishments or for devotion to a cause. Not more than five awards are given each year to practicing lawyers and judges who have made a significant contribution to their community, state, and/or the nation.

The Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award was established in 2008 in memory of the 2006-2007 SBM president. This award will be presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community.

The John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award recognizes a member of the State Bar who excels in commitment to pro bono issues. This award carries with it a cash stipend to be donated to the charity of the recipient's choice.

The deadline for the Liberty Bell Award is Monday, May 2, 2011. The Liberty Bell Award recipient is selected from nominations made by local and special-purpose bar associations, and is presented to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the justice system.

An awards committee reviews nominations, except those for the Cummiskey Pro Bono Award, which is reviewed by the Bar's Pro Bono Initiative Committee. All recommendations are then voted on by the full Board of Commissioners.

Last year's non-winner nominations will automatically carry over. Application forms are at www.michbar.org/programs/eventsawards.cfm. Cummiskey Award nominations can be sent to rmathis@mail.michbar.org; all others to Joyce Nordeen, State Bar of Michigan, 306 Townsend St., Lansing, MI 48933 or jnordeen@mail.michbar.org. More information at www.michbar.org.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »