Duly Noted

Varnum attorneys receive special recognition by Best Lawyers

Each year, The Best Lawyers in America® recognizes a “Lawyer of the Year” for each of the legal practice areas for which it rates attorneys. For 2019, eight Varnum attorneys have been recognized as "Lawyer of the Year" in their respective areas of practice.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year,” making this accolade particularly significant.

Varnum attorneys who have been recognized by their peers as "Lawyer of the Year" for 2019 are:

• Scott D. Alfree: Health Care Law, Grand Rapids

• Christopher A. Ballard: Trusts and Estates, Ann Arbor

• Jeffrey A. DeVree: Litigation and Controversy – Tax, Grand Rapids

• Richard D. Fries: Employment Law – Management, Kalamazoo

• Randall W. Kraker: Litigation – Municipal, Grand Rapids

• Thomas G. Kyros: Trusts and Estates, Grand Rapids

• David K. McLeod: Banking and Finance Law, Ann Arbor

• Steven Weston: Personal Injury Litigation – Plaintiffs, Kalamazoo

Best Lawyers® began designating Lawyers of the Year in the U.S. in high-profile legal practice areas in 2009.

According to Best Lawyers®: “Lawyers being honored as ‘Lawyer of the Year'’ are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the exhaustive peer-review assessments we conduct with thousands of leading lawyers each year.”


31 Mika Meyers attorneys listed in  Best Lawyers of America

Mika Meyers PLC has 31 attorneys included in the 2018 edition of the Best Lawyers in America.  

The lawyers selected are: John C. Arndts;  Elizabeth K. Bransdorfer, Scott S. Brinkmeyer, James R. Brown, Daniel J. Broxup, Andrea D. Crumback, John M. DeVries, Douglas A. Donnell, Scott E. Dwyer, David R. Fernstrum, Larry J. Gardner, Fredric N. Goldberg, John H. Gretzinger, Michael C. Haines, William A. Horn, Neil P. Jansen, Neil L. Kimball, Daniel J. Kozera, Jr., Daniel R. Kubiak, Ross A. Leisman, Daniel J. Parmeter, Jr., Jennifer A. Puplava, James F. Scales, Timothy J. Tornga, Mark A. Van Allsburg, Claude L. Vander Ploeg, Randall L. Velzen, James K. White, Richard M. Wilson, Jr., Nathaniel R. Wolf and Benjamin A. Zainea. 

Lawyers are selected solely on the basis of a nationally-conducted peer-review survey in which more than 25,000 leading lawyers vote on the legal abilities and professional achievements of other lawyers in their specialties.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »