Deadline nears for SBM award nominations

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Friday, April 1 for five major State Bar of Michigan awards.

These awards will be presented at the September Annual Meeting in Dearborn.

The Roberts P. Hudson Award is presented to commend one or more lawyers for their unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar, given generously, ungrudgingly, and in a spirit of self-sacrifice.

It is awarded to that member of the State Bar of Michigan who best exemplifies that which brings honor, esteem and respect to the legal profession.

The Hudson Award is the highest award conferred by the Bar.

 The Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a Michigan attorney holding elected or appointive office.

It was first awarded to Frank J. Kelley for his record-setting tenure as Michigan's chief lawyer.

 The Champion of Justice Award is given for extraordinary individual accomplishments or for devotion to a cause. Not more than five awards are given each year to practicing lawyers and judges who have made a significant contribution to their community, state, and/or the nation.

The Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award was established in memory of the 2006-2007 SBM president, who died in January 2008.

This award will be presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community during the past year or on an ongoing basis.

The John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award, named after a Grand Rapids attorney, recognizes a member of the State Bar who excels in commitment to pro bono issues. This award carries with it a cash stipend to be donated to the charity of the recipient's choice.

The deadline for the Liberty Bell Award is Monday, May 2. That award recipient is selected from nominations made by local and special-purpose bar associations. The award is presented to a non-lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the justice system.

Last year's non-winner nominations will automatically carry over for consideration this year.

Nominations should include sufficient details about the accomplishments of the nominee to allow the committees to make a judgment.

Any State Bar member can propose candidates for SBM Awards.

To apply online or download application forms, visit

Cummiskey Award nominations can be directed to Robert Mathis at; all other nominations can be submitted to Joyce Nordeen, State Bar of Michigan, 306 Townsend, Lansing, MI 48933 or


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »