'Bar for the Course': OCBA golf outing draws crowd to course


The winning foursome featured (left to right) John Hohmeier, Ben Gonek, Wayne County Circuit Court Judge David Groner, and Michael Rataj.

(On the left) Golf Committee Co-chairs Lynn Sirich, a past president of the Oakland County Bar Foundation, and Russ Carniak share a smile before the August 31 outing. (On the right) Representing The Legal News at the outing were (left to right) Mark and Abbey Werder, Annie Endres, and Tom Kirvan.

Among those on hand for the dinner festivities were (left to right) Mike Sullivan, Oakland County Circuit Court Judge Yasmine Poles, Kari Melkonian, James Low, OCBA Executive Director Jennifer Roosenberg, Dan Quick, and Oakland County Circuit Court Judge Victoria Valentine.
(Photos courtesy of OCBA)

By Tom Kirvan
Legal News

A course designed by two golf legends – Jack Nicklaus and Pete Dye –proved to be a stiff test for participants in this year’s Oakland County Bar Association outing on Tuesday, August 31.

Wabeek Country Club in Bloomfield Hills was the site of the OCBA’s annual golf outing, aptly titled the “Bar for the Course Golf Tournament.”

The outing, which was cancelled last year due to the pandemic and was rescheduled this year due to a late July storm that caused flooding around the area, attracted 99 golfers to the Wabeek links, according to Golf Committee Co-chairs Lynn Sirich and Russ Carniak.

According to the country club’s website, “Wabeek’s naturally beautiful surroundings reflect the intimate nature of this sanctuary, its atmosphere reminiscent of Northern Michigan. You may see on the property wildlife such as, deer, fox, and white heron and much, much more. This
championship golf course presents challenges as uncompromising as they are daunting ... The grandeur of this course will provide ... a brilliant test of golf.”

The foursome of Wayne County Circuit Court Judge David Groner, John Hohmeier, Ben Gomek, and Michael Rataj was more than up to the test last week, claiming first place honors at the event with a 16-under par 55.

Winning the long drive contest for women was Donni Steele, while Randy Temple won the longest drive honors for men.

Socking the straightest drive was Michael Herzoff.

In the closest to the pin contest, Sarah Nirenberg was the winner among women, while Davendra Kapoor claimed the first place prize for men.


Subscribe to the Legal News!


Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!