Cooley Law School students receive Law Review awards

 LANSING – Each term, the Cooley Law Review Voting Board of Editors presents awards to Law Review members who have made the most significant contribution to the publication of the Law Review. Three Cooley Law School students were honored this term, each receiving a different award.

Mya Hurwitz received the Eugene Krasicky Award, presented to the assistant editor who made the most significant contributions to the Law Review. The award is named after Professor Eugene Krasicky, who developed Cooley's Scholarly Writing program, an honors writing course and the foundation of the Law Review.

Sarah Tanner is recipient of the Dawn C. Beachnau Award, presented to a member of the Board of Editors who made the most significant contributions through leadership and dedication to the Law Review. The Award is named after the late Law Review Administrator Dawn Beachnau, established in recognition of her hard work and dedication.

Caroline Quandt received the John D. Voelker Award, presented to the senior associate editor who made the most significant contributions to the Law Review publication. The award is named after former Michigan Supreme Court Justice John D. Voelker, who authored some of the most readable opinions in the Michigan Reports and is widely known for his literary works. 

Established 10 years after the founding of the law school by the late Hon. Thomas E. Brennan, the Cooley Law Review is dedicated to advancing intellectual and practical discussions about the state of the law, both modern and historical. In addition to publishing twice a year, the Law Review also sponsors a lecture series, an annual symposium, and a distinguished brief award.