Association accepting nominations for Gage Judicial Excellence Award

 The Michigan Judges Association (MJA) announces that it is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award. 

Given annually, the award recognizes current or former circuit or court of appeals judges who have demonstrated exemplary service by excelling in trial and docket management, legal scholarship, and contributions to the profession and the community. 

This is the fifth year MJA has given out the award, named in honor of the late Judge Hilda Gage. Gage served with honor on the Oakland Circuit and Michigan Court of Appeals benches before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship. She was the first female president of MJA and the first woman to chair the Judicial Tenure Commission. 

Kalamazoo Circuit Court Judge J. Richardson Johnson received the award in its inaugural year. Other honorees include the Judge James L. Ryan, formerly of the Michigan Supreme Court and the United States Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals; Calhoun County Circuit Court Judge James C. Kingsley; and Judge Barry L. Howard, formerly of the Oakland County Circuit Court. 

MJA seeks nominees following Judge Gage’s footsteps by “serving their state and their communities with integrity, skill, and courage every day.” 

Anyone can nominate a judge for the award. The deadline is Friday, July 11. For a nomination form, contact Jason Blevins at or 231-724-6452.