County Circuit Court and County Sheriff sign employee scholarship agreements with UM Dearborn


The University of Michigan-Dearborn has extended its Community Service Personnel Scholarship program to include employees of the Washtenaw County Circuit Court and the Washtenaw County Sheriff's Department. Participation agreements were formally signed on May 29 by Washtenaw County Circuit Court Chief Judge David Swartz, Washtenaw County Sheriff Jerry Clayton, UMD Dean Martin Hershock, UMD Criminal Justice Studies Program Director (and former Washtenaw County Circuit Judge) Dr. Donald Shelton, UMD Associate Dean Mike LaChance, and UMD Associate Provost Ilir Miteza. The program provides a scholarship valued at 20 percent of tuition and fees for public safety employees at partnering organizations. Although administered through the Criminal Justice Studies Program, the scholarship is available for degree-seeking students in any UMD department or program and can be used for all undergraduate and graduate programs. The agreement with the Washtenaw County Sheriff brings the number of participating police agencies in Southeast Michigan to 17, and follows a recent similar agreement with the Oakland County Circuit Court. Pictured (seated l-r): Associate Dean Mike LaChance, Chief Judge Davis S. Swartz, Sheriff Jerry Clayton, and Dr. Donald Shelton. (Standing l-r): Criminal Justice Administrator Janice Jones, Court Administrator Dan Dwyer, Associate Provost Ilir Miteza, CASL Outreach Program Manager Susan Cushnier, and Criminal Justice Faculty Member Dr. Francine Banner.

Photo courtesy of U-M Dearborn