State Bar to host September 16 Inaugural & Awards Luncheon

The State Bar of Michigan will host its Inaugural & Awards Luncheon on Sept. 16, at the Westin Book Cadillac in Detroit.

SBM President Dana M. Warnez will pass the gavel to James W. Heath, the 88th president of the State Bar of Michigan; welcome the incoming leadership of the Board of Commissioners; and honor the distinguished service and commitment by members of Michigan’s legal community.

Honors from 2020 and 2022 will be awarded:

• Roberts P. Hudson Award: Barry L. Howard (2020), Janet K. Welch (2022)

• Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award: Ronald J. Frantz and Anita L. Hitchcock (2020), Cynthia D. Stephens (2022)

• Champion of Justice Award: Thomas P. Boyd, Susan L. Dobrich and James H. Fisher (2020), Margaret A. Costello, Robyn L. McCoy (2022)

• John W. Reed Lawyer Legacy Award: Prof. Paul D. Reingold (2020), Peter J. Henning (2022)

John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award: Heidi A. Naasko (2020), John R. Runyan Jr. (2022)

• Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award: ATJ Mid-Northern Michigan Expungement Project (2020), D. Augustus Straker Bar Association (2022)•

Liberty Bell Award: Timothy Skubick (2020), Grace French (2022)

To purchase tickets visit  For additional information, contact Amy Castner at  or call 888-726-3678.

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available